overhobbied

so much sparkly, so little time!

My first canvases!

Leave a comment

When you have a few spare moments, what’s your favorite passtime?  I like scrapbooking…something about preserving memories and sharing them just makes the heart glow…it’s also a great opportunity to become a hoarder with all the beautiful swirly stamps and all the SPARKLY papers out there! To put this extra goodness to work for me, I’ve started making canvases, thanks to a class I took from Quick Quotes.

The biggest obstacle to making canvases is finding a flexible glue that gives with the canvas without letting go.  The glue we used in this class was Beacon 3 in 1 glue.  Since taking this class, I have also used this glue to repair book bindings, so it would probably work for making real binded books…another project!

My first take on the canvas on my own was inspired by a wooden tree I bought at CKC and the swirly leaves of autumn.   The base is bright blue acrylic paint in a swirly pattern (of course!).  Then I used paper from SEI’s Monrovia collection and my sizzix machine.  Once I diecut the leaves, I embossed both sides with extra thick embossing powder (clear).  I pulled the front off of corrugated cardboard to make the “planted” hills.  Punched out lots of little flowers from homemade paper (not mine…haven’t tried that yet either…look another project!!!), added copper colored metal beads and seed beads for centers, then braided tri-colored rafia for inserts into the hills.  I cut several layers of fabric for the sun (or moon) and typed up a poem written by me (told you I’m all over the place), printed it on homemade papers (there’s that project again) and placed it along with the flying leaves, securing it with 3 in 1 glue and covering the glue with fiber and leaf brads…and there you go…a canvas…can’t wait to go to CKC this weekend to find MORE inspiration!

Author: overhobbied

avid crafter...dollhouse miniatures, polymer clay, canvases, scrapbooking, card making, beading and photography...I love them all!

Leave a Reply

